The 12 Bhavas (houses)

The Jyotish chart is divided in 12 sections, which are called the 12 bhavas, or houses. Each bhava is related to an area of life, just like the planets are. Each of the 12 bhavas coincides with one sign. (This is called the equal house system in Western Astrology) Every bhava has one planet which is called its lord, and the lord of a bhava is always the lord of the sign that falls in that bhava. For example, Mars is lord of Aries, and if Aries falls in the 5th house then Mars is also lord of the 5th house. The most important house is the 1st house, and it represent the personality of the individual, his body and life in general.

Parashara's Light Software will calculate all of these areas for you and give you interpretations on their influences.

About Vedic Astrology | The 9 Grahas (planets) | Rashis (signs) | How Jyotish Predicts